

City of Douglas

City Hall,
Douglas,
28th March, 2024

At a SPECIAL PRIVATE MEETING of the COUNCIL of the CITY OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 2.00 p.m. on THURSDAY, the 28th day of MARCH, 2024, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the CITY HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

The Mayor

COUNCILLOR MRS NATALIE BYRON-TEARE, JP

Councillors

Mr S.R. Pitts Mrs C.L. Wells

Mr J.E. Skinner Mr F. Horning

Mr I.J.G. Clague, MBE Ms J. Thommeny, JP

Mr A.J. Bentley Mr P.J. Washington

Mr D.R. Watson

The Chief Executive, Director of Finance, Director of Housing and Property and the Assistant Chief Officer (Regeneration) were in attendance.

Apologies for absence were submitted by Mr Councillor S.R. Crellin.

1. Point of Order

Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts rose on a point of order to query if the dress code applies for private Council Meetings.

2. **Point of Order**

Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner rose on a point of order to query the validity of the meeting as the Summons had not been sent three working days in advance in line with Standing Order 10, the timing of the meeting in line with Standing Order 9, and that he was unaware that the Executive Committee meetings now take place on Thursdays.

3. Mayor's Response

The Mayor adjourned the meeting whilst she reviewed Standing Orders. On resumption, the Mayor, in response to Mr Councillor Pitts' point of order, confirmed that the dress code for Council Meetings still applies for private meetings.

In relation to Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner's point of order, the Mayor extended the apologies of Democratic Services for the late circulation of the summons, however, she pointed out that the date of the meeting is clearly stated in Standing Order 7 and the date of the meeting, together with the schedule of all meetings, is circulated to Members at the beginning of each Municipal term. The Mayor therefore declared the meeting valid.

The Mayor referred Mr Councillor Skinner to Standing Order 90, Meetings of Committees, which stated the Executive Committee meets on Thursdays. In relation to the timing of the meeting, the Mayor advised that Standing Order 7 superseded Standing Order 9 and the meeting is called prior to the Executive Committee meeting. The Executive Committee meet at 2.00pm, on this occasion this meeting was delayed until 2.15pm to allow the Special Council meeting to take place at 2.00pm. The Mayor advised this time was included in the schedule of meetings circulated to Members at the beginning of the Municipal term.

4. Executive Committee – 29th February, 2024

Motion moved by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells, seconded by Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, "That the minutes of proceedings of the Executive Committee, as contained in private report of meeting held on Thursday, 29th February, 2024 (in relation to the nomination of a Member as Mayor of the Borough for the forthcoming municipal year), be received by the Council."

Question put on Motion; a vote was taken electronically, and there voted **For** the Motion: Councillors, Mr S.R. Pitts, Mr. I.J.G. Clague, Mr A.J. Bentley, Mr D.R. Watson, Mrs C.L. Wells, Mr F. Horning, Ms J. Thommeny, Mr P.J. Washington, the Mayor -9

Against: Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner - 1

Motion carried.

5. Chair of the Meeting

The Mayor advised the Council that in view of the minute from the Executive Committee relating to the nomination of Mayor, it was inappropriate for her to continue as Chair of the meeting whilst nominations for Mayor were considered. She therefore relinquished her seat as Chair and took her place on the floor of the Chamber. Mr Councillor P.J. Washington was unanimously elected to Chair the meeting.

6. **Selection of Mayor**

Mr Councillor P.J. Washington called for nominations for a person to be selected to be Mayor of the Borough for the municipal year commencing 8th May, 2024.

Councillor Mrs N.A. Byron-Teare was nominated by Councillor Ms. J. Thommeny and seconded by Mr Councillor D.R. Watson.

No further nominations were received.

Question put on Motion; a vote was taken electronically, and there voted **For** the Motion: Councillors, Mr S.R. Pitts, Mr. I.J.G. Clague, Mr A.J. Bentley, Mr D.R. Watson, Mrs C.L. Wells, Mr F. Horning, Ms J. Thommeny, Mr P.J. Washington, the Mayor – **9**

Against: Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner - 1

Motion carried. Councillor Mrs N.A. Byron-Teare was selected to serve as Mayor for the 2024/2025 Municipal year.

7. Acceptance of Office by Mayor Select

Councillor Mrs N.A. Byron-Teare announced her intention to accept the office of Mayor for the 2024/2025 municipal year if confirmed at the Annual Council Meeting on 8th May, 2024.

The Mayor resumed her seat in the Chamber.

8. Press Statement – Selection of Mayor

Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells moved a Motion to approve the issue of a press statement in the following terms:-

"Douglas City Council announces that at a Special Private meeting of the Council held on Thursday, 28th March, 2024, Councillor Mrs Natalie Anne Byron-Teare was selected as Mayor for the municipal year ending Tuesday, 13th May, 2025 and signified her intention to accept the office if confirmed at the Annual Council Meeting on Wednesday, 8th May, 2024."

An amendment was moved by Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner, seconded by Mr Councillor F. Horning, "That the press statement be amended to read:-

"Douglas City Council announces that at a Special Private meeting of the Council held on Thursday, 28th March, 2024, Councillor Mrs Natalie Anne Byron-Teare was selected by simple majority as Mayor for the municipal year ending Tuesday, 13th May, 2025 and signified her intention to accept the office if confirmed at the Annual Council Meeting on Wednesday, 8th May, 2024."

Question put on amendment, a vote was taken electronically and there voted **For** the Motion; Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner, Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, Mr Councillor A.J. Bentley - 3

Against: Councillors, Mr S.R. Pitts, Mr D.R. Watson, Mrs C.L. Wells, Mr F. Horning, Ms J. Thommeny, Mr P.J. Washington, the Mayor – 7

Amendment fell.

Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague seconded the original Motion. A vote was taken electronically and there voted **For** the Motion: Councillors, Mr S.R. Pitts, Mr I.J.G. Clague, Mr A.J. Bentley, Mr D.R. Watson, Mrs C.L. Wells, Mr F. Horning, Ms J. Thommeny, Mr P.J. Washington, the Mayor – 9

Against: Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner - 1

Motion carried.

The Council rose at 2.28pm.

For: Town Clerk & Chief Executive