A digitised presentation of rare glass negatives showing aerial views of Douglas in 1935 will be on display at
A project commissioned by the Council in 1935, the views provide a fascinating record of how the capital once looked, and show Douglas and its outskirts at a time before the Pulrose and Anagh Coar housing developments were built. Such is the detail and clarity of the negatives that individual people can be seen in the
Along with the glass negatives presentation visitors will be able to view the magnificent interior of the Council chamber and learn about the stories behind some of the artwork, artifacts and ceremonial items housed in the building which has served as the capital’s Town Hall since 1900.
The Council chamber, Mayor’s parlour and Committee room of
The Manx National Heritage open day programme offers open access or guided tours to properties, lands and displays usually closed to the public or charge admission.
To find out more visit www.manxnationalheritage.im