You are here:Home > News > Council News > Council goes for growth: bulb judging completed

Council goes for growth: bulb judging completed

Monday, 25 February 2013 15:00

Judges in the Council’s daffodil bulb-growing competition for primary schools in the borough are unearthing considerable horticultural talent.



DuoWindowZSC 7221 MediumGraham Newsome and Councillor Stephen Pitts deep in daffodil decision-making


Judging is completed at the 10 schools taking part - Anagh Coar, Ballacloan, Ballacottier, Cronk-y-Berry, Fairfield, Manor Park, Scoill yn Jubilee, Scoill Vallajeelt, St Mary’s and Willaston – where the pupils’ efforts are being assessed by regeneration and community advisory committee lead member Councillor Stephen Pitts (above right) and the Council’s assistant head of parks (technical) Graham Newsome.


BallacloanZSC 7371 MediumBallacloan primary school: Nicole Kowalewska and Emma Walmsley, both five; Chloe Hamilton, four; and Finlo Tumblety, six




CronkyZSC 7283 MediumCronk y Berry School: Alisha Fitzgerald, seven; Samvir Jandu, 10; Amy Convery, 11; and Alex Pannell, seven



FairfieldZSC 7209 MediumFairfield School: Brintha Yasodaran, eight; Sophia Reid, seven; Brindan Yasodaran and Sophia Iankova, both nine; and Stephen Waddington, 10



VallajeeltZSC 7340 MediumScoill Vallajeelt: Breesha Logan-Cowley, four; Ella MaLone, seven; Marie Chilliers, 10; Laura Carey, eight; Alex Nicoll, five; and Grace Gawne, six



DuoZSC 7278 MediumCouncillor Stephen Pitts and Graham Newsome witness the green shoots of spring




EyesZSC 7310 MediumThe 'eyes' have it, the 'eyes' have it...




Judging: Week Two


AnaghCoarZSC 7746 MediumAnagh Coar Primary School: Ellie Christian Wicklow, five and Kaitlyn Dunning Fitzpatrick and Amy Bennett, both aged four



BallacottierZSC 7553 MediumBallacottier Primary School:Lucinda Musson, four, Matthew Boyle, six and Ella Stewart, five




AprilClareManorParkZSC 7586 MediumManor Park Primary School: April Clare, five




MurraysRoadZSC 7780 MediumMurray's Road School: Joseph Druggan, 10




JubileeIsaacZSC 7616 MediumScoill yn Jubilee: Isaac Quayle, five





WillastonZSC 7576 MediumWillaston Primary School: Kayla Irvine, nine



StMarysZSC 7240 MediumSt Mary's RC School



Winners will be announced at a prize presentation at Douglas town hall in April.